The Light at the End of the Tunnel

Hello.

Okay so this week’s post isn’t going to be much but I just felt really inspired by something so I wanted to talk about it.

I’ve mentioned this previously but one of my favourite bands ever is Walk The Moon. A few weeks back, (well all my posts are written in advance so everything is essentially backdated) they cancelled a tour. I mean, I wouldn’t normally care that much about it because it’s not like I’m going for the tour so. But they announced it with quite a sad message that made me think a little.

Screen shot 2016-04-24 at PM 11.17.37

The part that impacted me was the last few lines.

“Through this time, it continues to be our dream and our mission to take the darkness in our lives and mold it into light + color. The only way out is through.”

I love this band specifically for their optimism, hope and positivity. They’ve always aimed to spread happiness and they even have a ‘meditation’ segment in their live shows where they get everyone to channel all the negative energy in their bodies and push it out. It was a therapeutic and heartwarming moment because there and then, you could see everyone was happy and this band had personally connected with everyone.

Many times, we find ourselves stuck in a phase of unhappiness, or metaphorically, a ‘dark period of our lives’. And unfortunately, whenever I’m in an emotional pickle, I just wallow in self-despair and just continue feeling sad without attempting to change much. I just sit there and continuously go over the bad things in my head.

We’ve all heard the saying: ‘there’ll be a light at the end of the tunnel’ but to me, I’ve always focused on how far the light is, as opposed to how much bigger the end of the tunnel is becoming.

The lines from their note above basically means that we will all experience bad things and it’s something we all have to go through at one point or another. While it may seem devastating at this point, you have to remember that it will end at one point, and you will be on the greener side of the grass.

I have no idea where I was going with this word diarrhea but if you came here for a life lesson but instead got confused by my circling around everything, here it is.

When you’re in a situation you don’t like, you can always work towards making the situation better. Wiggling stationary in your spot will not help you make any progress, so walk towards the light at the end of the tunnel.

I hope I will remember to apply this the next time I’m sad, which I’m hoping is not anytime soon.

x,
Kenneth

#nowplaying | Iscariot – Walk The Moon

 

Leave a Reply

